New Post, New Year

I let this site go, but I’ve decided to make this blog one of my New Year’s Resolutions. I have been trying to figure out what I want to do, how I fit in in the disability community. After all, I really don’t go out all that much, but I do feel like I am learning a lot about the issues facing people with disabilities. I certainly know about the issues I am facing as a disabled woman and mother.

I usually Google disability and disability rights in the news section every morning to see what pops up. Today, the same irate paper popped up on 4 or 5 different sites. The headline?

“Nearly 11 million Americans on disability at the end of 2013” The gist of it is too many people are on disability and people are getting spoiled, spoiled I tell you, by getting an average $1,146.43 a month. I don’t think this author has ever tried to pay rent, buy food, pay for heat and electricity, and, oh yeah, those pesky medical bills because you’re disabled on $1,146.43 a month. The next two things he says also bothers me. He excuses disabled veterans from his rant. I appreciate everything veterans have done for us. But does that make those of us who are not veterans less deserving? Then comes the accusation people are “gaming the system”. Because $,146.43 a month is worth all the paperwork, getting denied, even if you are born with a brain injury, more paperwork, and then waiting two years for healthcare. Because having sick people wait for healthcare makes total sense. So yeah, who wouldn’t want to jump on this bandwagon?

Other news clips were happier: NBC is actually going to show some of the Paralympics on television this time, not streaming on computer. So that’s good. Happy New Year. Send me resolutions or ideas

Leave a Reply

